NORFOLK/COLEBROOK SCHOOL STUDY COMMITTEE THRUSDAY, MARCH 19, 2015 7:00 PM BOTELLE SCHOOL

Present: S. Gray, H. Carfiro, T. McKeon, S. Dyer, S. Carr, J. Jones, J. Hall, M. Sconyers, J. Millar and W. Brodnitzki

Non-Voting Members: J. Chittum, G. Counter, J. Costa, M. Venhorst

Others: M. Icobelli

H. Carfiro moved to accept the minutes of January 15, 2015 as presented. S. Gray seconded the motion. The motion passed.

The visit to the State Board of Education on February 4, 2015 went well. They were generally supportive. There were concerns about the length of time we were requesting for an exemption from the MBR. They seemed to think 5 years was adequate not convinced about the additional 5 years. Lengthy discussion was held regarding the need for 10 years rather than 5 years. J. Millar handed out a new summary forecast and explained his methodology. The committee will meet with K. Dempsey the CFO of the State Department of Education to advocate for the 10 year exemption.

J. Chittum handed out new data on the projected enrollment from Dr. Prowda dated March 18, 2015. These figures are only projections and could vary up or down but they still indicate a declining enrollment in both towns. Discussion held.

Legislation still needs to be addressed regarding the Minimum Budget Requirement (MBR) and the Average Daily Attendance (ADA). Lengthy discussion ensued. It was noted that the committee should pursue our legislators in the event we need them to introduce legislation.

Lease provisions were proposed and the lease would be emailed to everyone with noted concerns. Any questions regarding the lease should be directed to Tom McKeon or Susan Dyer.

Revised Regionalization Plan was handed out by J. Costa. The report was re-formatted under each committee for Findings and Recommendations. The question regarding the vote on page 25 is taken exactly from the statute. Please review and if there are any questions or concerns, email Jonathan.

Under 2/3 vote, M. Sconyers moved to add Mary Beth Icobelli, the superintendent of Botelle, as a non-voting member. J. Millar seconded the motion. Motion carried.

The next meeting of the School Study Committee will be on Wednesday, April 22nd at 7:00 PM

J. Millar moved to adjourn at 8:30 PM; S. Carr seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Submitted: Susan Dyer, Secretary