## MINUTES OF SPECIAL ANNUAL TOWN MEETING JANUARY 11, 2021

The meeting was called to order by First Selectman Thomas D. McKeon at 7:12 p.m.

First Selectman, Thomas McKeon explained the ground rules for conducting this unusual meeting.

- 1. Attendees present will be checked off the list of registrants;
- 2. Meeting will be opened once 75% of the registrants are present;
- 3. Explaining this is our first town meeting conducted by Zoom, so please be patient;
- 4. If you are experiencing technical issues please call the town clerk at 860-379-3359 x203;
- 5. Everyone will be muted and remain muted until called upon. Once called upon, unmute yourself, once you are done speaking, please mute yourself again;
- 6. If you have a nomination, raise your hand until acknowledged; state your name and nomination, then mute yourself. Same for those making a second;
- 7. Vote will be called, please hold hand up visibly in the screen to be counted;
- 8. Registrars of Voters will count the vote and announce outcome before moving to the next item;

Tom McKeon opened nominations for Moderator. Chris Johnstone nominated Tom McKeon; he was seconded by Scott Norton. There being no other nominations from the floor Thomas McKeon was declared Moderator. The Moderator read the call of the meeting

Per the Governor's Executive Order No. 700 this meeting will by Zoom. You will be required to pre-register so that you can make nominations and vote on the appointment of Board and Commission members. Please contact the Town Clerk's office for details and to register. (860) 379-3359 x203

The legal voters of the Town of Colebrook and those entitled to vote in town meetings of said Town are hereby notified and warned that the Special Annual Town Meeting of said Town will be held by Zoom on Monday, January 11, 2021 at 7:00 p.m. for the transaction of the following business:

<u>Item No. 1.</u> The Moderator stated that there are two positions open and they will be voted on separately. The first position is currently held by Ed Lord, Ed would like to pass on a new term. Scott Norton nominated Will Sweeney; he was seconded by Diane Johnstone. The Moderator asked the Registrars of Voters, Karen Odell, (D) and Sherri Gray (R) to count the hand votes of 22 in favor and one opposed. William M. Sweeney (U) was appointed regular member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a term of three years (January, 2021\* to October, 2023).

The Moderator stated that the second position is currently held by Jim Bickford. Jim would also like to pass if someone else is interested. Marty Neal nominated John Fernandez; she was seconded by Kate Kennedy, Matt Klimkosky nominated Jim Bickford and was seconded by Scott Norton. The Registrars of Voters counted the hand votes of 17 in favor of John Fernandez and 10 votes in favor of Jim Bickford. John Fernandez was declared the winner. The Moderator thanked Jim Bickford for his approximately ten years of service to the Town of Colebrook on the Planning and Zoning Commission. Jim Bickford thanked everyone for the opportunity to serve the town and he wished John Fernandez the best of luck in this position. John Fernandez (D) was appointed regular member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a term of three years (January, 2021\* to October, 2023).

<u>Item No. 2.</u> The Moderator stated that this is a vacancy position and asked for nominations; Hope Carfiro nominated Kevin Robichaud; she was seconded by Marty Neal. There being no other nominations the ROVs counted the hand votes of 25 in favor and one opposed. Kevin Robichaud (U) was appointed alternate member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to fill a vacancy term of one year (January, 2021\* to October, 2021).

<u>Item No. 4</u>. The Moderator stated that there are two positions open and they will be voted on separately. The first position is currently held by Fred Williams, he would like to continue. Scott Norton nominated Fred Williams; he was seconded by Hope Carfiro. There being no other nominations the ROVs counted the hand votes of 20 in favor and zero opposed. Fred P. Williams (D) was reappointed regular member of the Zoning Board of Appeals to serve a term of two years (January, 2021\* to October, 2022).

The second position is currently held by Penny White. Penny would like to continue. Marty Neal nominated Penny White; she was seconded by Kim Janak. There being no other nominations the ROVs counted the hand votes of 24 in favor and zero opposed. Penelope F. White (R) was reappointed regular member of the Zoning Board of Appeals to serve a term of two years (January, 2021\* to October, 2022).

<u>Item No. 5.</u> The Moderator stated that this position is currently held by Helen Campbell. Helen would like to continue. Penny White nominated Helen Campbell; she was seconded by Karen Odell. There being no other nominations the ROVs counted the hand votes of 24 in favor and zero opposed. Helen Campbell (R) was reappointed alternate member of the Zoning Board of Appeals to serve a term of three years (January, 2021\* to October, 2023).

<u>Item No. 6</u>. The Moderator stated that this is a vacancy position and asked for nominations. There being no nominations or discussion item No. 6 was passed on. The vacancy position of alternate member of the Zoning Board of Appeals for the term of one year (October, 2020 to October, 2021) remains vacant.

<u>Item No. 7.</u> The Moderator stated that there are two positions to fill and that we would vote on each member separately. The first position is currently held by Justin Truskauskas. Justin would like to continue. Kim Janak nominated Justin; she was seconded by Hope Carfiro. There being no other nominations the ROVs counted the hand votes of 25 in favor and zero opposed. Justin M. Truskauskas (U) was reappointed regular member of the Recreation Board for a term of three years (January, 2021\* to October 2023).

The second position is currently held by Daniel Ward. Dan does not want to continue. The Moderator mentioned that Jonathon Ferrante has an interest in the position. Jonathon lives on Rockwell Road and has that amazing Christmas light display. Marty Neal nominated Jonathon; she was seconded by Kim Janak. There being no other nominations the ROVs counted the hand votes of 25 in favor and zero opposed. Jonathon E. Ferrante (R) was appointed regular member of the Recreation Board for a term of three years (January, 2021\* to October 2023).

<u>Item No. 8.</u> The Moderator stated that this position is currently held by Rebecca Bodycoat. Becky would like to continue. Marty Neal nominated Rebecca Bodycoat; she was seconded by Hope Carfiro. There being no other nominations the ROVs counted the hand votes of 25 in favor and zero opposed. Rebecca Bodycoat (D) was reappointed regular member of the Historic District Commission to serve a term of five years (January, 2021\* to October, 2025).

<u>Item No. 9.</u> This position is currently held by Carol Lord. Carol would like to continue. Scott Norton nominated Carol Lord; he was seconded by Tom Norton. There being no other nominations the ROVs counted the hand votes of 25 in favor and zero opposed. Carol H. Lord (R) was reappointed alternate member of the Historic District Commission to serve a term of three years (January, 2021\* to October, 2023).

<u>Item No. 10.</u> The Moderator stated that this is a vacancy position. Kate Kennedy nominated Alesia Maltz; she was seconded by Marty Neal. There being no other nominations the ROVs counted the hand votes of 25 in favor, and zero opposed. Alesia Maltz (D) was appointed alternate member of the Historic District Commission to fill a vacancy term of two years (January, 2021\* to October, 2022).

There being no further business a motion was made by Marty Neal and seconded by Chris Johnstone to adjourn the meeting at 8:37 p.m.

Attest: Debra L. McKeon Town Clerk

\*October, 2020 Annual Town Meeting appointments made on January 11, 2021 due to COVID-19.