MINUTES OF ANNUAL TOWN MEETING OCTOBER 17, 2022

The meeting was called to order by First Selectman Christopher Johnstone at 8:00 p.m. Nominations were opened for Moderator. Kate Kennedy nominated Chris Johnstone and was seconded by Jennifer LaRocque. There were no other nominations and Chris Johnstone was declared Moderator. The Moderator read the call of the meeting:

<u>Item No. 1.</u> The Moderator stated that there are two positions to fill and that we would vote on each member separately. The first position is currently held by Martha Neal and she would like to continue. Diane Johnstone nominated Martha Neal; she was seconded by Kate Kennedy. There being no other nominations and by majority hand vote Martha F. Neal (R) was reappointed member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a term of three years (October, 2022 to October, 2025). The second position was currently held by Jennifer Larocque and she would like to continue. Kate Kennedy nominated Jennifer Larocque; she was seconded by Ernie Marmer. There being no other nominations and by majority hand vote Jennifer Larocque (D) was reappointed member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a term of three years (October, 2022 to October, 2025).

<u>Item No. 2.</u> The Moderator stated that this position is currently held by David Goulet and he would like to continue. Jennifer Larocque nominated David Goulet; she was seconded by Diane Johnstone. There being no other nominations and by majority hand vote David Goulet (U) was appointed alternate member of the Planning and Zoning Commission for a term of three years (October, 2022 to October, 2025).

<u>Item No. 3</u>. The Moderator stated that there are two positions to fill and that we would vote on each member separately. The first position is currently held by Fred Williams and he would like to continue. Karen Odell nominated Fred Williams and she was seconded by Ernie Marmer. There being no other nominations and by majority hand vote Fred Williams (D) was reappointed member of the Zoning Board of Appeals to serve a term of two years (October, 2022 to October, 2024). The second position is currently held by Penny White and she would like to continue. Amy Gardner nominated Penny White; she was seconded by Kate Kennedy. There being no other nominations and by majority hand vote Penelope F. White (R) was reappointed member of the Zoning Board of Appeals to serve a term of two years (October, 2022 to October, 2024).

<u>Item No. 4</u>. The Moderator stated that this position is currently held by Cathie Norton and she would like to continue. Ernie Marmer nominated Cathie Norton he was seconded by Diane Johnstone. There being no other nominations and by majority hand vote Catherine C. Norton (R) was reappointed alternate member of the Zoning Board of Appeals for a term of three years (October, 2022 to October, 2025).

<u>Item No. 5.</u> The Moderator stated that there are two positions to fill and that we would vote on each member separately. The first position is currently held by Mary Stauffer and she would like to continue. Cathie Norton nominated Mary Stauffer she was seconded by Karen Odell. There being no other nominations and by majority hand vote Mary H. Stauffer (U) was reappointed member of the Recreation Board for a term of three years (October, 2022 to October 2025). The second position was held by Katie Martin and she would like to continue. Cathie Norton nominated Katie Martin she was seconded by Amy Gardner. There being no other nominations and by majority hand vote Kathleen Martin (U) was reappointed member of the Recreation Board for a term of three years for a term of the recreation Board for a term of the reappointed member of the Recreation Board for a term of the reappointed is a term of the reappointed by the term of the reappointed by Amy Gardner. There being no other nominations and by majority hand vote Kathleen Martin (U) was reappointed member of the Recreation Board for a term of three years (October, 2022 to October 2025).

<u>Item No. 6.</u> This position is currently held by Sally Estock and she would like to continue. Diane Johnstone nominated Sally Estock; she was seconded by Jim Millar. There being no other nominations and by majority hand vote Sarah W. Estock (R) was reappointed member of the Historic District Commission to serve a term of five years (October, 2022 to October, 2027).

<u>Item No. 7.</u> The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor to fill a vacancy on the Historic District Commission for a term of four years. Ed Lord nominated Phillip Bainbridge; he was seconded by Ernie Marmer. There being no nominations from the floor and by majority hand vote Phillip E. Bainbridge (D) was appointed member of the Historic District Commission to fill the vacancy term of four years (October, 2022 to October, 2026).

<u>Item No. 8.</u> The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. Scott Bergsbaken nominated Wendy Healey; he was seconded by Mary Thurnau. Ed Lord nominated Dave Bishop; he was seconded by Sally Bainbridge. There being no other nominations the Moderator asked for a hand vote. The Registrar of Voters, Sherri Gray and Karen Odell counted the show of hands for Wendy Healey 8 and the show of hands for Dave Bishop 15. David A. Bishop (R) was appointed alternate member of the Historic District Commission for a term of three years (October, 2022 to October, 2025).

<u>Item No. 9.</u> The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor to fill a vacancy on the Historic District Commission alternate member term of two years. Scott Bergsbaken nominated Wendy Healey; he was seconded by Mary Thurnau. There being no nominations from the floor and by majority hand vote Wendy W. Healey (D) was appointed alternate member of the Historic District Commission to fill the vacancy term of two years (October, 2022 to October, 2024).

<u>Item No. 10.</u> The Moderator began by stating that the Sandy Road Bridge project came in at an estimated 5.1 million dollars and the Old Creamery Road Bridge estimated expenditure of \$411,000. The Capital Improvement Plan needs to be funded with the towns portion of \$849,770 which is a 80% to 20% with the State of Connecticut. At this point Mr. Johnstone asked if Jim Millar would like to say a few words and answer any questions. Jim Millar stated that The Capital Improvement Committee has been planning and putting money away for this project but that a supplemental appropriation would be necessary to meet the estimated total due. He also noted that

this was discussed at the Annual Budget meeting in May, 2022. The needed funds will be taken directly from the general fund and will not affect the current mill rate. Scott Bergsbaken asked why estimated numbers were referred to when discussing the project. Mr. Johnstone stated that the prices of the materials have fluctuated since the planning began. His feeling is that the final numbers will come in a bit less than budgeted. The Sandy Brook Bridge will take approximately 270 construction days to complete and the Old Creamery Road Bridge will take approximately 213 construction days to complete. The Old Creamery Road Bridge will be done first as it is a smaller project and then on to the Sandy Brook Road Bridge. Construction to begin in the spring of 2023. Jim Millar made the motion for the Town of Colebrook to approve a supplemental appropriation of \$849,770 to the 2022 – 2023 Capital Improvement Plan to complete repairs to the Old Creamery Road and Sandy Brook Road bridges. He was seconded by Ed Lord. Being no further discussion and by majority hand vote the motion passes.

There being no further business Chris Johnstone adjourned the meeting at 8:29 p.m.

Attest: Debra L. McKeon Town Clerk